Portrait Photography..Help!

B643B643 Registered Users Posts: 134 Major grins
edited December 26, 2009 in Technique
My niece has asked me to do her graduation pictures. I accepted the challenge although I have never done portrait photography before. I don't have any of the "studio lights". I have a large reflector I use in landscape photography and a Speedlight external flash. I use the Canon 40D. My lenses are all Canon...28-135....100 macro...11-22 and 100-400. Any tips or links would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• jeffreaux2jeffreaux2 Registered Users Posts: 4,762 Major grins
    edited December 26, 2009
    B643 wrote:
    My niece has asked me to do her graduation pictures. I accepted the challenge although I have never done portrait photography before. I don't have any of the "studio lights". I have a large reflector I use in landscape photography and a Speedlight external flash. I use the Canon 40D. My lenses are all Canon...28-135....100 macro...11-22 and 100-400. Any tips or links would be greatly appreciated.

The best bet with your lens line-up is the 100mm macro. Don't be afraid to use it at F2.8 to F4.0. This will help to blur out the background and focus attention on your subject. The 11-22 might also make for some fun shots, just be aware that it will distort your subject and exaggerate features, and try to set up compositions with it that will minimize those effects.

If you have the 430EX or 580EX speedlight you can use it for fill flash. With large apertures you will need to be familiar with high speed synch and flash exposure compensation in order to be able to control how much effect the flash has on the exposure.