Birthday Pics

sokolichsokolich Registered Users Posts: 20 Big grins
edited January 5, 2010 in People
Hi!
Although a newbie here, I have been using my D40 for a while now and am interested in some C & C.
I see other pictures from members and their pictures seem a lot better imagewise (probably from a composition standpoint as well).
The attached picture was taken yesterday at a birthday party with some relatives. It turned out ok but something is lacking in the image. The image doesn't seem as sharp and clear as others that I see in the forum. I am sure that it is me and not the camera because generally the D40 takes great pictures. I shot this on the "Normal" optimization and quality with a large image size using autofocus on the 18-135 lens. I could only upload one image but can post a couple of others for review if needed as I shot around 45 pictures.

Image #1:
1/60 @ F5.6
Matrix Metering, Programmed Auto, @ 75mm focal length with a 18-135 AF-S Nikon DX lens.
SB-600 flash-TTL and BL
ISO 800
No Exposure comp

Thanks for the forum!
Scott
Nikon D300, D700Tamron SPAF 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di IINikon AF-S 50mm f1.8GNikon AF-S DX 18-135mm Telephoto Zoom LensNikon AF-S DX 55-200mm Telephoto Zoom Lens w/VRNikon AF-S Nikkor 24-120mm f/4G ED VRNikon AF-S DX Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-EDSB-600 Speedlight

Comments

• adbsgicomadbsgicom Registered Users Posts: 3,615 Major grins
    edited January 4, 2010
    Welcome to the forums!

The softness may be from the compression to the tiny resolution you have there. Especially if you are shooting JPG and then crunching it down again. Try to shoot in RAW and convert once. For images that I post directly, I try to export to the 800-pixel size directly so the sharpening in LR is applied for that size.