Canon 15-85 or 17-55

SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
edited January 12, 2010 in Cameras
Okay,
As my last post stated I'm new to this photography thing. I've been playing with a buddy's 40D and love it, way more than the rebels for size and interface that is. I've basically narrowed my budget and decisions down to two options. I wish I had a ton of money I'd just get L lenses all over the board but can't do that as I'm teaching English in China so that doesn't provide much income. Here are my options.

Refurb 40D + 17-55
Refurb 40D + 15-85 (maybe also the 50 1.4 but that'd be tight money wise)
or finally New 50D + new 15-85 (Can't afford the new camera with the 17-55

I know I know, the 17-55 is amazing, it's like and L for crops, I know that. However, I just wanted some opinions from people who have used either or better yet both lenses, and have thoughts. I find that what I like to shoot in China most really warrants the 28-135 but that's old, and not wide enough as I can only have one maybe two lenses right now, but I love shooting stuff that happens in daily life in China. Mostly people and things I see walking through the city. So while I do love to get close, I also need wide ish angles for tourist stuff etc.