Options

Best raw editor for Canon

nsydrnsydr Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited January 17, 2010 in Finishing School
I'm new to photography and have a Canon XSI/450D. I have been researching raw editing programs and learned that each program's finished output looks different (some a lot better then others) and that not all are created equal. All of the info/tests that i have found are 2007 and older. Anyone know what's the best current program for Canon users when it comes to post processing work and conversion from raw?

Comments

• Options
    AnthonyAnthony Registered Users Posts: 149 Major grins
    edited January 16, 2010
    nsydr wrote:
    I'm new to photography and have a Canon XSI/450D. I have been researching raw editing programs and learned that each program's finished output looks different (some a lot better then others) and that not all are created equal. All of the info/tests that i have found are 2007 and older. Anyone know what's the best current program for Canon users when it comes to post processing work and conversion from raw?

Well you have the Canon software which offers the ability to post-process images and save them out as tif files - which can then be opened in a number of different editing programs. Alternatively, using Photoshop either full or Elements will offer the use of Adobe Camera Raw for raw file processing and adjusting, then the ability to open the file in Photoshop itself for further processing.

But this misses the point really: No Converter/Processor automatically produces finished images - the way *you* want them by just clicking a couple of buttons. Experience and some know-how is necessary to get a better finish out of the software. The fundamentals are easy to learn and like anything worth while; practice, practice, practice is required. Fortunately, there are loads of tutorials on the 'net and trials for software available for free, so the world is your oyster in this regard.