Options

Where do I start???

GambrelGambrel Registered Users Posts: 37 Big grins
edited January 22, 2010 in Weddings
The wife came home the other day and said that one of her friends would like us to shoot their wedding. Which I quickly turned down. The main reason being I have zero experience shooting people. Let alone someones Wedding day!
Now this got me thinking. How would I get experience shooting weddings/people? I have seen people suggesting 2nd shooting but I don't think anyone is going to just pick up a second shooter with no portfolio of people in it. I have no idea where to begin? I am having a hard time finding friends who will let me take them out for a free session. My wife is prego so she is not about to have any photos of her. I don't want to be that guy that takes on a job and runs my career into the ground before it has a chance to take off. Any suggestions? Any such thing as a 3rd shooter?
D90, D40, SB-600, SB-400, 50mm 1.8 and a couple of kit lenes.:thumb

Comments

• Options
    l.k.madisonl.k.madison Registered Users Posts: 542 Major grins
    edited January 21, 2010
    Gambrel wrote:
    The wife came home the other day and said that one of her friends would like us to shoot their wedding. Which I quickly turned down. The main reason being I have zero experience shooting people. Let alone someones Wedding day!
    Now this got me thinking. How would I get experience shooting weddings/people? I have seen people suggesting 2nd shooting but I don't think anyone is going to just pick up a second shooter with no portfolio of people in it. I have no idea where to begin? I am having a hard time finding friends who will let me take them out for a free session. My wife is prego so she is not about to have any photos of her. I don't want to be that guy that takes on a job and runs my career into the ground before it has a chance to take off. Any suggestions? Any such thing as a 3rd shooter?