Starter Maco Lens

riseagainstriseagainst Registered Users Posts: 61 Big grins
edited January 26, 2010 in Cameras
I'm looking to get into some macro shooting and want to purchase a macro lens in the next few months. I would say i'm still a pretty novice photography so keep that in mind. I am on a small budget also. I would like some suggestions on a starter macro lens. I am willing to buy new or used off of ebay i have seen some pretty good deals on there! I shoot a canon 50d BTW

Comments

• mehampsonmehampson Registered Users Posts: 137 Major grins
    edited January 24, 2010
    Look into the macro forum here, this is a well-tread path with lots of good discussion already.

First, I would be extremely skeptical about any great deals on eBay. The only big-ticket photo items I'd consider buying there are new with warranty, from a reputable, certified camera store with an eBay storefront, and then with the Bing cashback thing to get a bit off.

As for a starter Canon macro lens on a small budget, I do have some basic advice. First, there are different ways to get to 'macro' scales, and a true dedicated macro lens is only one of them. It's probably the best one if money is no object, but probably the worst if money is an object. Don't drop $500+ on something you might wind up never using if macro isn't really your thing after all. Look into extension tubes, reversal rings, and other less-expensive gear first, and get a cheap basic macro rig that you can cut your teeth on.* Step two would be a flash and going crazy over diffusers and brackets and things. Step three, once the weather's nice again, is rent a nice macro lens to see what you like. Step four is buy a macro lens, once you know exactly what you need and have the money for it.