Options

For the PHOTMATIX Users............

Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
edited February 2, 2010 in Finishing School
Which do you prefer........

Stand alone or

PhotoShop Plugin????
"Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

Comments

• Options
    kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,680 moderator
    edited January 31, 2010
    Funny, haven't tried the plugin yet and forgot they even had one. ne_nau.gif
    It's been a while since I looked, but even Photomatix seemed down on the plugin, like there was something you could do with the standalone program that you couldn't do with the plugin. But I forget the details. I've been using the standalone program for a couple of years and have always upgraded to the latest editions (for free I might add.)

The workflow with the standalone program seems streamlined enough. I simply multiple-select the image series in Bridge and drag them on top of the Photomatix window or icon. I suppose LR would work the same way. HDR and tone-map in Photomatix, and export as TIFF. Then open that TIFF in ACR for some fine tuning if necessary, and to double-check for blown highlights. Then post process as any other image. Not sure what plugin would buy me. But if it eliminates the intermediate TIFF output from PM, then that would NOT be a feature in my book.

Cheers,
    -joel
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited January 31, 2010
    That is my current workflow too, Joel.

I have not tried the Lightroom plugin from Photomatix either, but I prefer to use Adobe Camera Raw to create a Smart Object for my RAW workflow, and them use Photoshop for further editing of those image files.