Upgrading camera - canon

nicki2414nicki2414 Registered Users Posts: 103 Major grins
edited February 4, 2010 in Cameras
I have been doing portraits for a few years now with a canon xti. I have loved this camera, but I have started to do weddings also so I need to upgrade my equipment. I have about $1000.00 to spend. I don't mind buying used. I have been looking at the Canon 50d, but have seen some bad reviews. I have L quality lenses and all the top canon gear. Just need a new body. Any recommendations?

Comments

• ChatKatChatKat Registered Users Posts: 1,357 Major grins
    edited February 3, 2010
    nicki2414 wrote:
    I have been doing portraits for a few years now with a canon xti. I have loved this camera, but I have started to do weddings also so I need to upgrade my equipment. I have about $1000.00 to spend. I don't mind buying used. I have been looking at the Canon 50d, but have seen some bad reviews. I have L quality lenses and all the top canon gear. Just need a new body. Any recommendations?

A 50 D isn't the end of the world. A 7d would work. A 5D2 is ideal. You need a minimum of two cameras and preferable to have 3 for wedding work. What if one fails? I've had two cameras be ready and both cameras fail at the same time during a ceremony. My 3rd camera was ready until I could see what happened to the other two. You need low light capability.

Look up Scott Quier's thread - he talks about wedding gear in his thread signature link.
    Kathy Rappaport
    Flash Frozen Photography, Inc.
    http://flashfrozenphotography.com
  • Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited February 3, 2010
    All reviews aside, the 50D is a quite suitable camera for just about any sort of work. I've worked weddings with a pair of 30D cameras ... resulting in very happy clients.