Experimenting with ND filters, feedback needed

pkhonapkhona Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
edited February 11, 2010 in Landscapes
All,

I am a hobbyist and started experimenting with some ND filters. I got 2 stop Lee GND soft filter. Used that to take some of pics off coastline. Let me know what you think and what can I do to improve on these in future. Camera I have is E520 from olympus and lens used was kit lens of 14-42 mm.

Also feel free to browse my gallery and critique it.

Thanks in advance for your time,

Regards,

Purvesh
http://pkhona.smugmug.com
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

782761874_hhfTP-XL.jpg

[IRG]http://pkhona.smugmug.com/Landscapes/LandScape-Picutres/Halfmoonbay-lee-filter-test-1/782549538_ePwzs-XL.jpg[/IMG]

782573419_qK5WA-XL.jpg

782573344_GTaZj-X2.jpg

782602624_vmtRi-X2.jpg

782565865_QNhZw-X2.jpg
Olympus E520

Comments

• DonRicklinDonRicklin Registered Users Posts: 5,551 Major grins
    edited February 9, 2010
    Aside from you ND experiments, you should take the time to straighten the horizon on most of these.

Don
    Don Ricklin - Gear: Canon EOS 5D Mark III, was Pentax K7
    'I was older then, I'm younger than that now' ....
    My Blog | Q+ | Moderator, Lightroom Forums | My Amateur Smugmug Stuff | My Blurb book Rust and Whimsy. More Rust , FaceBook
  • RuiMLopesRuiMLopes Registered Users Posts: 336 Major grins
    edited February 9, 2010
    I assume that you used the filter so its darker side was placed over the lower part of the pictures... actually, from what I see on 1st and 2nd pictures, your shutter speed was low enough to allow the "milky" effect on the foreground water, which would had lead to overexposure without the filter. However, it seems that it has also darkened the rocks. May be you should recover that on PS...