Today's headshot shoot

divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
edited March 3, 2010 in People
C&C absolutely welcome!

First portrait shoot with 50d.
First shoot with new reflectors.
First shoot in my living room in quite some time.

Wowzers. This one came out of nowhere and this is not an ideal weekend for me to be shooting since I'm extremely busy, but it was the only time we both had. Since I didn't want to lose the opportunity, I did my best to make it work. I wasn't really feelin' it today... or so I thought until I started playing around with a few of them. In theory, I shouldn't be retouching and editing until after she's picked the shots she wants "done up" for print masters, but as usual I can't keep my hands off them.... :D

fyi I did these without a calibrator - they will absolutely be checked on a calibrate monitor before they go any further (assuming these are even the shots she winds up choosing)

What blows my mind is how DIFFERENT this gal looks with different lighting/pose. I'll probably post some more as I work on them; there are a couple more which are very different both in terms of her hair/clothes and the lighting as well.

all taken with 50d+50mm 1.4. These two were both speedlight flash, but we did some natural (window+reflector) light ones too.

My favorite so far
799632633_jQcWK-L.jpg

799632730_JYLnD-L.jpg

3. Can't decide if I like this one or not - it's a bit "80's soap opera star", but I have to admit I had fun playing with the hairlight.... :wink (shame it's a bit overlit on that side, but it was as low and as far away as it could go....)

799641319_Rd6om-L.jpg

Comments

• Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2010
    MG,

These are looking pretty good!
    Some comments on #1