Options

Success conundrum (HELP PLEASE)

ChaoslillithChaoslillith Registered Users Posts: 126 Major grins
edited March 3, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
Hello all,

So I have good news and bad news. I am looking at being the exclusive photog for an audio visual company that is looking to have me shoot about 20-30 events a year. YAAY HAPPY DANCE!!

Now the other part..the job I currently work I am an asst manager at an optical store and no way in hell well I be able to get 20-30 Sat off a year.

Now when I first took the shoot I was not aware they were looking for a photog for all their events until after I quoted her a price. Since I am new to photography and really wanted the gig ( I got to take pics of Al Gore hehe) I quoted $20.00 an hour as there is no real editing on my part other than noise reduction and cropping.

So now that it seems they are going to want me for more work but I am not sure I will be able to get the time off how do I go about negotiating a better price? Should I look for a new job? What type of contract should I have them sign?

HELP!!

Thanks!
Photography teaches us to observe again. Me.
I am in AZ and would love to meet others from Phoenix.

Comments

• Options
    takeflightphototakeflightphoto Registered Users Posts: 194 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2010
    Well, congratulations on being wanted. Now you can find out how much they really want you.

Take your gross salary at the optical place + enough extra to buy health insurance + pay your share of self employment taxes + any other job related payments. Divide that amount by 20.

That is what you need to make on each event job to be able to take it on as your main gig.

Good luck. And if you make the plunge, welcome to the world of self employment.
  • Options
    ChaoslillithChaoslillith Registered Users Posts: 126 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2010
    Thanks for the input