Options

Odd Photoshop file behavior...I think?

net1994net1994 Registered Users Posts: 269 Major grins
edited March 4, 2010 in Finishing School
Okay, so while I have used Photoshop for a few years now, It was all self taught-which for PSP can be brutal. Anyway I just started saving my 'master' files in PSD format, where as I would normally do a 16 bit TIFF. But after saving my photos (as a PSD, TIFF and JPG versions) the folder where they reside had exact duplicates of the same exact file. One the original and the next the same file name with the #2 at the end. i.e.
bigg.PSD
bigg_2.PSD

This also happens for any TIFF or JPEG. Anyone know why its doing this? What am I doing wrong. Thats wasting a lot of space.

Another oddity (and its probably me) is when I open a PSD with layers and try to make any quick changes before printing. If I want to change Levels for instance, I can't! Ever heard of this?

Thanks!!
Candy For Your Eyes @ Paint By Pixels

http://www.paintbypixels.com

Comments

• Options
    net1994net1994 Registered Users Posts: 269 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2010
    Anyone?
    Candy For Your Eyes @ Paint By Pixels

http://www.paintbypixels.com
  • Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,929 moderator
    edited March 4, 2010
    net1994 wrote:
    Anyone?

Yes, this does sound odd, but I think we need a little more information about your workflow. Tell us step-by-step what you are doing starting from the camera and ending up with the duplicate files.

ear.gif
  • Options
    colourboxcolourbox Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited March 4, 2010
    net1994 wrote:
    Another oddity (and its probably me) is when I open a PSD with layers and try to make any quick changes before printing. If I want to change Levels for instance, I can't! Ever heard of this?