Checking out Tamron AF 17-50mm f/2.8 SP XR Di II LD

Just0a0guyJust0a0guy Registered Users Posts: 23 Big grins
edited March 12, 2010 in Cameras
I found a deal for a used Tamron 17-50 2.8 lens on craigslist I'll be checking it out tonight after work. I have never used a third party lens before is there anything different compared to a canon lens that I should be sure to check? otherwise the basics of auto focus functioning aprature response and dust/mold damage to the glass suffice for verifying the lens before buying.

Comments

• GadgetRickGadgetRick Registered Users Posts: 787 Major grins
    edited March 10, 2010
    I looked at this lens as well as Sigma's equivalent. Supposed to both be very good lenses but Tamron has a reputation of having slightly better optics than Sigma and Sigma has a reputation of having a faster focus speed than Tamron. They both have a reputation of QC issues but, as long as you get one which is working, I understand they're good lenses. I have owned a Sigma 18-200 DC OS HSM and it was a very good lens.

It's not an, "L," lens or anything but should be ok as long as you're not getting crazy.
  • mutti_wilsonmutti_wilson Registered Users Posts: 33 Big grins
    edited March 10, 2010
    I have the Nikon version with the BIM. Focus isn't super fast, but plenty good enough for what I use it for. The IQ is great, don't worry about that. It's a solidly built lens, but don't expect it to be tank like. All in all, a great bargain.
    Bodies: D300, D200
    Lenses: Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8, Tokina AT-X 828 AF Pro 80-200mm f/2.8, Tokina AT-X Pro 11-16mm f/2.8, Nikon 50mm f/1.4
    Accessories: Nikon SB-600, Zeikos Grip, Original Tilt-All Tripod, Smith-Victor BH-52 Ball Head, Various Filters etc.
  • TGAllenTGAllen Registered Users Posts: 161 Major grins
    edited March 10, 2010