Options

Not happy with resized Image Quality, what can we do?

pengruspengrus Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
edited September 8, 2005 in SmugMug Support
I am a new Pro Account Trial User.

I was all ready to move to smugmug until I uploaded some wedding pictures.

The resized pictures have some severe artifacts in many pictures. Give you one example:

1. http://peng.smugmug.com/gallery/716051/11/31376611/Large
Notice the finger with the ring?

2. http://peng.smugmug.com/gallery/716051/11/31376596/Large
Notice the arm of the lady on the right?

When I view the pictures on my computer, it does not show the artifact at all. Could you please tell me if this is due to OVER-Sharpen or UNDER-sharpen of smugmug? Probably OVER-Sharpen, right?

Here is what I used for taking these pictures:
Canon 20D Digital
ISO 800
Canon 50/1.4
Parameter Settings:
JPEG (L/fine)
Contrast: 0
Sharpness: 2
Saturation: 2
Color Tone: 0

I know there is no use to complain how smugmug resize and sharpen. But maybe there is a setting in my camera that I can adjust higher or lower to accomodate smumug's resizing and sharpenning?

Could anyone who is familiar with Canon 20D or experienced photographer can tell me based on the picture above if I should adjust the Sharpness setting in my camera lower or higher to get the best resized image quality on smugmug?

Thank you!
Sean

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited August 8, 2005
    i don't see the probs you are referring to. smugmug must apply some sharpening to -L images, else they get complaints that images look "soft"

you should apply less sharpening in your post-processing routine.

cheers

andy
  • Options
    edited August 8, 2005
    Andy,

Thanks for your reply. You do not see any unclear edges in the two pictures?

Even your blinking eye avatar is sharp and clear compared to my posted pictures. :):