Options

Jpeg Compression on Smugmug (more discussion!)

ktb53ktb53 Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
edited August 12, 2005 in SmugMug Support
I'm a new member to smugmug.com. I think the site is great but I have one issue, JPEG compression. I've read through some of the posts about compression on Smugmug so I feel I have a pretty good understanding of smugmugs view on this, being that higher quality JPEG images results in slower downloads for users and more diskspace and bandwidth taken up on their part.

As a website designer for about 10 years now maybe I notice this more then most people but I definately see a good amount of compression on my images (and other peoples). I think the download time is a good arguement and because of that small and maybe medium should be left alone but if the user is saying they want to see a large image they are most likely not concerned about download times.

As a photographer I spend a lot of time working with my images to make sure the user is captivated by a particular image and it brings out certain feelings. If they are distracted because they can see image compression then my hard work is somewhat nullified.

I would recommend that Smugmug up their JPEG quality on large images to somewhere in the range of about 80% or 9-10 on the 1-12 JPEG quality scale (when saving from photoshop).

Besides, we do only have a limited amount of bandwidth anyhow right? So their really just looking at some additional disk space.

-Ken
What if the Hokey Pokey REALLY IS what it's all about?

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited August 11, 2005
    ktb53 wrote: