How Would You Set Your Wedding Photo Prices for ... Your Boss?

astrostuastrostu Registered Users Posts: 85 Big grins
edited April 12, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
[Sorry if you've seen this thread on some other forums ... I'm cross-posting to try to maximize feedback.]

Anyway, I'm a grad student, 5th year, been working with my advisor since 2007. I'm in astronomy -- photography is "just" a hobby, albeit an expensive one. He knows I've shot one wedding on my own and has seen the photos. He also knows I did that one for free. He's getting married this Sept. and he asked me around October last year - just after I got back and was swearing I would never do another wedding for free - if I would shoot his. I told him yes, but that I would charge him.

Fast-forward to now, and I'm meeting with him and the bride-to-be on Thursday afternoon to go over a contract (which I've already e-mailed them), discuss what coverage they want, get the important names, dates, places, etc. And figure out a price.

My question is, should the fact that I have relatively little experience (which he KNOWS, as I have asked him and the fiancé four times to make sure they're okay with going with me) AND ESPECIALLY that he's effectively my boss have any bearing on what I charge him?

I'm going to extend my psychic powers and guess that the answer will be "no" for the latter part, but then the question moves to, what do I offer him as a wedding present? One thing I was considering doing is that many, many people said my pricing structure needed to be ratcheted up by at least a factor of 2, so that the "Basic" package of just covering 2 hrs of ceremony plus formals starts at $600. So I thought I could do that, but then knock off 25% or 50% and say that's the present.