First attempt at portraits C&C please!

MacushlaMacushla Registered Users Posts: 347 Major grins
edited April 5, 2010 in People
First attempt at portraits. I wish I could have put the kids further from the background but the room is not large enough. I used my 50mm lens with light coming in from a window and bounced my SB600 off the walls for a fill flash. Are they underexposed? Any suggestions?

Jane3.jpg

Jane11.jpg

Kate1.jpg

Kate3.jpg

5. Just for fun
DSC_0112.JPG

6. My parents, they're 80
MP1.jpg

I really want to get better so all comments and suggestions are welcome. I did edit these in photoshop but I'm a photoshop noob also so any PP suggestions are welcome. HERE are some of the rest of them.

Comments

• l.k.madisonl.k.madison Registered Users Posts: 542 Major grins
    edited April 4, 2010
    Cute girls!!!!

They all look just a *tad* oversharpened to me, almost like an anti-noise was ran and it did too much.

I did glance at your album, shot 12 to me looks great, I'd maybe sharpen the eyes just a tad, but leave the rest of it that soft. Shot 11 looks over-sharpened, but just hitting the next arrow makes you really see a difference with them side by side.

And who said you had to do shots inside? If it's a beautiful, overcast day, bring those girls outside and add some color to the background!! Don't let a gray-ish background go with such cute dresses and faces!!

Just my thinking, though.

And your mom does NOT look 80!!! I would have guessed no older than 60!!
  • MacushlaMacushla Registered Users Posts: 347 Major grins
    edited April 5, 2010
    Cute girls!!!!

They all look just a *tad* oversharpened to me, almost like an anti-noise was ran and it did too much.

I did glance at your album, shot 12 to me looks great, I'd maybe sharpen the eyes just a tad, but leave the rest of it that soft. Shot 11 looks over-sharpened, but just hitting the next arrow makes you really see a difference with them side by side.