Upgrading Dilemma , Input Requested.

MGJuliusMGJulius Registered Users Posts: 28 Big grins
edited April 28, 2010 in Cameras
Hey all,

So my parents asked me what I want for my birthday (May 21st) and I want to get some more photography equipment, but I'm stuck on what to get. I've narrowed my choices to two things, the first is to get the Canon EF 28-135mm IS USM lens or to get the Canon 20D, sell my 10D + 28-80mm lens, and buy the 18-55mm IS lens. I was wondering which option would be best in my situation (my parents said they will spend about $300). Also if there is another route you think I should take, then by all means let me know (I'm still a beginning photographer and maybe i'm not seeing this in the way professional people see it).

Thanks in advance,
MGJulius
Taking pictures and enjoying life, who could ask for anything more?
http://stefanschnake.com

Comments

• DsrtVWDsrtVW Registered Users Posts: 1,991 Major grins
    edited April 5, 2010
    You can never go wrong with good glass.
    Chris K. NANPA Member
    http://kadvantage.smugmug.com/
  • chrisjohnsonchrisjohnson Registered Users Posts: 772 Major grins
    edited April 5, 2010
    Tripod
    Just an idea - you could get a very good tripod for $300.

A tripod extends your range considerably. You can shoot in really low light, get sharper images, and much more.
  • RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,954 moderator
    edited April 5, 2010
    We could give better advice if you tell us a bit about what you want to shoot. deal.gif
  • MGJuliusMGJulius Registered Users Posts: 28 Big grins
    edited April 5, 2010
    Richard wrote:
    We could give better advice if you tell us a bit about what you want to shoot.

Yeah, I probably should have included that in the first post. Right now I shoot general purpose, but I am wanting to get into portrait work (one of the reasons I got the 50mm lens), and I already have a tripod, but thanks for the advice.