Digital backgrounds

r9jacksonr9jackson Registered Users Posts: 129 Major grins
edited April 9, 2010 in People
I have done this head shot and wonder if there is a way to make it appear to have more separation from the digital background. The shot was originally done, at the customers request, on a white background and I photoshopped in the digital background. Or, does this look OK?
I know I should have shot it with a muslin backdrop and proper lighting but I'm just starting out and have a limited budget for the right lighting and backdrops.

[IMG][/img]831854505_ECWHa-M.jpg

Comments

• kidzmomkidzmom Registered Users Posts: 828 Major grins
    edited April 9, 2010
    Honestly, at first glance this looks like a lit muslin and classic headshot. No problems with separation in my book but I'm no pro! :D
  • GreensquaredGreensquared Registered Users Posts: 2,115 Major grins
    edited April 9, 2010
    Personally, I think it looks pretty good - just the bright greens in the background are competing for attention. I think if you perhaps darken it, it will help with blending as well.
    Emily
    Psalm 62:5-6

• SurfdogSurfdog Registered Users Posts: 297 Major grins
    edited April 9, 2010
    Maybe some desaturation of the background would help.
    http://www.dvivianphoto.com

Don't worry. I can fix you in photoshop.
  • SwartzySwartzy Registered Users Posts: 3,293 Major grins
    edited April 9, 2010
    Separation and blur is fine...choice of color....not good. For a business man's portrait, something a bit more upscale for the bg is required. Also, bring the exposure up on your subject....it's down about 2/3rds of a stop.
    Swartzy:
    NAPP Member | Canon Shooter
    Weddings/Portraits and anything else that catches my eye.
    www.daveswartz.com
    Model Mayhem site http://www.modelmayhem.com/686552
  • MacushlaMacushla Registered Users Posts: 347 Major grins
    edited April 9, 2010