Going Full Frame And Would Like Your Input

PhilMPhilM Registered Users Posts: 26 Big grins
edited April 19, 2010 in Cameras
First off, I am not a pro, but I take decent photos. I am currently using a Sony Alpha Compact with Zeiss glass. There is nothing wrong with this camera, however my wife is getting the bug and has gave me the blessing to step up so long as she gets the APC and gear :clap.

That being said, I have really liked the Sony unit and would consider it as the full frame purchase. I was a big Cannon fan in my 35mm days, but bought a Minolta while I was in the service and liked it as well. So the Cannon EOS was given to my brother who still uses it. When I found out that the glass from my 7XI would work with the Sony APC, that is what solidified my Sony purchase.

My questions for you are as follows, assuming I am choosing between Cannon and Sony:

1. Do you think that in the 2k price range for bodies, is there much of a difference between the Sony and Cannon line?

2. In terms of glass, is there a image/construction quality difference between the two?

3. This is a real important factor. In terms of user controls and ergo's, does one feel more natural than the other?

A little more background. I know that it is a big jump going from an APC to a full sensor unit. I almost always shoot in either full manual mode or on occasion switch to A or S priority. I also shoot mostly landscapes and sports/fast moving objects. None of what I shoot goes anywhere except for the friend I am shooting for or for our family's use and entertainment. In other words, I have no plans of calling myself a professional nor having a studio.

jI only use three of the 8 lenses that I have. No real rhyme or reason, I just like them. They are a 16-80 2.8 Zeiss, 50mm 1.8 Sony, and a 70-210 beercan. Remember, these stay with the APC but these are the focal lengths that I most commonly use.