Canon SX20 help required

traveller2010traveller2010 Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited April 20, 2010 in Cameras
Hi friends,

I am planing to buy a semi SLR. I have looked at a lot of options and the Canon SX20 seems to be the best.

I want to know that as a amateur, how would be the performance of this camera. Would it be easy to handle in the auto mode and automatically take good pictures like a P & S? Or would I need to have a lot of practice on it before I put it to use. The reason is that I am going on a vacation shortly and I intend to use SX20 there.

Request your advice considering that I am an amateur photographer using a Nikon Coolpix L5 model.

Also, in the highest quality, what would be the photo size in MBs in SX20? And can the camera handle a 8GB card without any issues?

Thanks in advance,
Amit

Comments

• traveller2010traveller2010 Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
    edited April 19, 2010
    Hi friends....

Request your advice.........
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited April 19, 2010
    A Canon PowerShot SX20 IS would be considered an "advanced digicam", but it is not an SLR (even though there is a slight physical resemblance.)

Cameras like the SX20 IS make very nice vacation cameras. The SX20 IS has a decent zoom range and the IS section also works well. Fully automatic mode will produce results typical for this sort of camera, but the SX20 IS also has a Program mode, Aperture Priority mode, Shutter Priority mode and Manual mode which collectively give a user a high level of control.

The SX20 IS has a hot shoe and allows an external flash, which I highly recommend for indoor use. The Canon 430EX (or 430EX II) flash would make a good external flash for the camera and greatly enhance indoor shooting. I also recommend using a flash modifier for best results and the "Better Bounce Card" and Demb Flip-It are useful and compact flash modifiers I can recommend.