Options

Word of Warning About Photographing in Public Places

Comments

• Options
    printergirlprintergirl Registered Users Posts: 308 Major grins
    edited April 21, 2010
    silversx80 wrote:
    Moral of the story: don't give credit where credit is due :D

Ain't that the truth! I guarantee there are others who have pictures of her work posted that never even gave her credit!

I think in the future I am sticking to nature shots and portraits (with proper signed releases for public view). Forget all this other stuff. I don't need the hassle. :(
    ~ Nora

WebsiteBlogFacebookTwitter
  • Options
    craig_dcraig_d Registered Users Posts: 911 Major grins
    edited April 21, 2010
    Having just read the last 7 pages of this thread, I'm frankly appalled at some of the incredibly poor advice given by people who obviously know nothing at all about the law in this area. I'm not a lawyer either, nor have I been actively involved in copyright lawsuits in any way, but the only advice I have to give is general.

First, the one and only person on dgrin whose opinion on this subject would carry any weight with me is professional photojournalist and Artist in Residence B. D. Colen. Unfortunately he has not commented here. I suggest you send him a PM briefly explaining the situation and linking to this thread so that he can get all the details.

Second, I do think you need to consult a lawyer. If possible, it really should be someone with experience in copyright law (or more generally, intellectual property law), but that may not be feasible for you for a variety of reasons.

Third, I strongly advise you not to respond to the letter or to contact the artist in any way. At least talk to a lawyer first, and if you hire the lawyer, let them handle any contact with the other side.