Possible new side job and not sure what to expect

ckasparckaspar Registered Users Posts: 154 Major grins
edited May 4, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
Let me give you a little history. My wife bought me a Rebel XSi at my request for my birthday in January. I have been doing quite a bit of shooting at events around my area. I ran into a guy who is a movie producer and he likes my work. He has asked if I would be interested in shooting some shots at a movie set for him. I am assuming he minds a "behind the scenes" kind of thing. I have never done anything like that before and wanted to see if anyone else here has ever heard of or done something like that.

I am totally down to do it just want to make sure I am capable.

Any thoughts?

Comments

• Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited May 3, 2010
    only you know if you're capable..............shoot it just likne any other event that you might shoot that you have absolutely no control over the flow of events
    Stay quiet...very, very, very quiet........move about very cautiously......it is not uncommon for a producer or director to want still captured while producing a movie.
    yes there are several movie cams capable of producing very good stills but those shoots are the exact same angle as the movie is shot from.
    be creative..go low get high.....go low.......be sure to have a fast long zoom (70-200) and a nice wide to med tele zoom as fast as you can get.......You're gonna
    want to get some wide stuff and also some really in your face expressions....there will be no time for lens changing so you need 2 bodies with lenses attached,
    borrow a body or rent body and lenses if you do not own what is needed........you will not be able to use flash as that will kill the movie shot, that is why you need fast glass.....
    as i said rent it......this could be an oppurtunity to start a big time movie studio career......