Options

Different types of metering

enthusiastenthusiast Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited May 6, 2010 in Technique
I'm new to digital SLR cameras, and am at a loss as to what type of meter is best to use. My camera has "evaluative metering, "partial metering," "spot metering" and "Center-weighted average metering."

I've seem some information saying that, for example, evaluative is good for scenes with both bright and dark areas, whereas spot is good for precision.

I guess my question is why you wouldn't always want precision.

I'm going to yosemite national park in a few weeks, and would love any suggestions as to what I should be using.

Thankyou!

Tember

Comments

• Options
    408Views408Views Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
    edited May 4, 2010
    The answer to your question is it depends. A scene that's metered in "spot" will be correctly exposed for the place you pointed the meter and most of the rest of it could be under or over exposed where as evaluative metering mode will give you a more even exposure across the image. Center weighted average will be similar to evaluative with a bias toward what is in the center of the image.

I would suggest using evaluative metering until you have a chance to learn how and when to use other modes.
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited May 4, 2010
    enthusiast wrote: »
    I'm new to digital SLR cameras, and am at a loss as to what type of meter is best to use. My camera has "evaluative metering, "partial metering," "spot metering" and "Center-weighted average metering."

Tember

Tember, each type of metering can be useful for specific purposes, or specific photographic needs. A sledge hammer and a tack hammer are both tools, but one may be better for a specific task than another.