Printer at home

PtishPtish Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited July 6, 2010 in Digital Darkroom
I have bee scoping out the internet looking for a printer that i can print matte and canvas pictures on at home. I wanted a larger format one so i can print large canvas. BUT i am getting so lost, LOL.
I find a large format printer that is 10,000 bucks then i'll check somewhere else and there 1200 bucks. What the heck is the difference? And is it worth going for the big bad expensive one right up front or is it better to start small?
Pls help! Also keep in mind i am a complete beginner, lol.
:huh

Comments

• David_S85David_S85 Administrators Posts: 13,237 moderator
    edited June 21, 2010
    bump
    My Smugmug
    "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky
  • colourboxcolourbox Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited June 21, 2010
    If you are a beginner it would be best to start with a modest printer as you perfect your printmaking skills. Ink is expensive. Paper is expensive. Wasted supplies are really expensive. Large format supplies only come in large packs that cost a heck of a lot for a home user; many of those large format printers are really priced for shops. You should start small.

Don't know what is up with the price difference. Maybe you can post a couple of examples. Some may be office printers, some might be CAD plotters, others may be fine art photo oriented with inks built for accuracy and longevity.
  • pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,703 moderator
    edited June 21, 2010
    Printing at home - for professional prints - is not for beginners. And it costs more than a good on line lab charges, unless you use non-OEM materials, and compromise your images.

What is the maximum size you want to print? For many of us, printing 16x24 at home is sufficient.

Bear in mind that many very large format printers may not print as small as 8x10.