at the lake

amoramor Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited August 17, 2005 in People
new to this whole digital photography thing. i'm playing with a pretty minimal camera (canon sd200), but i'm starting to learn how to get what i want through trial and error. i took the thing to the lake today with a friend, and happened to like the way these two turned out. i'm still not getting enough light most of the time. hands aren't steady enough without a tri-pod.
suggestions welcome. i'm a real amateur looking to learn.
32426800-S.jpg

32426821-S.jpg

Comments

• OwenOwen Registered Users Posts: 948 Major grins
    edited August 17, 2005
    The second is OOF, but I prefer it to the first.

Nice setting. :)
  • thegreeneggthegreenegg Registered Users Posts: 551 Major grins
    edited August 17, 2005
    Welcome to dgrin!
    I agree with the above comment. While everyone likes a picture that is clear and nice lighting, which the first one is, it's more important to capture emotion in a portrait of someone and that's why the second one speaks to me more. However, I do wish it was in focus.
    Getting them both together- and a lot of other things like DOF, shutter speed and blah blah blah is the challenge. But you will find that when this happens it ususally result in an awesome photo.
    These are nice and I hope you keep posting. You are doing a good job with the equipment you have. Keep it up.
    Ashley
    Green is the way to be!
    ashleyharding.smugmug.com
  • windozewindoze Registered Users Posts: 2,830 Major grins
    edited August 17, 2005