Help on composition needed

saikanosaikano Registered Users Posts: 49 Big grins
edited May 16, 2010 in Landscapes
Hey fellas! This is my first post so don't be too harsh if I posted in the wrong forum :p

I've just bought my first DSLR - canon XS. I am a total noob,but I am trying to learn. Yesterday walking in the area I dound this awesome place green lake with white grass,but prob is I don't know what to include in the composition to make it more interesting as basically there is nothing except for a lake :( Any help?

4611705900_8f7549540f.jpg

Comments

• Doug SolisDoug Solis Registered Users Posts: 1,190 Major grins
    edited May 16, 2010
    I would try to find a more interesting foreground to start with, some green reeds rather than white ones some interesting moss or rocks or an old dead snag or tree. I dont' know what the rest of the lake looks so it is difficult to offer much help. It looked to be a still day and you have some nice reflections, try to incorporate more of that.

Always try to shoot in first light or sundown as even dry reeds will take on a reddish hue. Learn the camera inside and out and pick up some basic compositon setup books they will pay dividends for you.

Keep Shooting
  • starlightstarlight Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
    edited May 16, 2010
    First question - What is the photo *of*? By that I mean, what are you trying to draw the viewers eye to...? In the image above it's hard to tell what you want us to look at...