Portrait Lighting: Help! :-)

LeeHowellLeeHowell Registered Users Posts: 99 Big grins
edited May 18, 2010 in People
I'm wondering if someone could solve a mystery for me...I'm new to the whole studio lighting thing, so please bare with me. I'm testing for some portraits I'll be doing for our office staff and I seem to be having some issues...

Each time I fire a test shot, about 3 out of 5 shots, the flash does not fill the exposure - Maybe it's firing during the pre-flash? But I don't understand why 2 out of the 5 will expose the shot properly and I get the effect I'm going after? I've tried waiting different periods of time between exposures to see if recharge rates had anything to do with it, but the red lights come on 1-2 seconds after firing, so I'm thinking that's not the issue.

I've got some info below to help answer the techy side of things...Could it be the el-cheapo flash trigger I'm using just not firing properly?

Canon 30D
Manual Mode, 1/100 @ f/5.6, ISO 200
Cactus V4 Transmitter
70-200mm f.4 L

Master:
Camera right, sitter's left
580EX II, Manual Mode
Cactus V4 Receiver
1/2
105mm
shoot-through umbrella

Slave:
Camera left, sitter's right
Sigma EF-500 DG Super, Manual slave mode
1/2
105mm
shoot-through umbrella

*Edit to add* I'll try to update later with some sample shots of correct fires and misfires :-)

Comments

• Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited May 17, 2010
    Yeah, without sample photos, this will be nearly impossible to diagnose. Without seeing such, there's only two things that come to mind:
    1. You may be waiting for the re-charge to light on one of the flashes, but it's not been long enough for both flashes ne_nau.gif
    2. Your triggers aren't getting the signal (pun intended :D) so it's not tripping the flash(es).
    I'll re-visit this when I see samples. Hope I can help.
  • LeeHowellLeeHowell Registered Users Posts: 99 Big grins
    edited May 17, 2010