Waterfalls/stream ND filter - first attempt. C&C please what would you do.

jimqjrjimqjr Registered Users Posts: 250 Major grins
edited May 24, 2010 in Landscapes
Hello Everyone.
Thanks for looking. I am not a landscape person I am trying. I look at others pictures and try to do my best. This is my first attempt at water and using an ND filter. I think this one is good though I would love to hear how to make it better.
Thanks so much for taking the time.
871938833_ZkHjj-XL.jpg

Comments

• hawkeye978hawkeye978 Registered Users Posts: 1,218 Major grins
    edited May 19, 2010
    I think you were able to achieve the flowing water look you were looking for. I would suggest two things. First, the picture is somewhat overexposed. If you shot raw, I would go back and back off on the exposure setting. Even if you shot jpeg you can make some exposure adjustments. It looks like the water is close to blown out in the whiter regions. The same thing is happening in the sky. You can probably crop the sky away completely just above the rocks in the background and improve the composition. I think you want your subject to be the stream and that would help bring definition.

You have a nice area to shoot and I think some adjustments in exposure and composition will get you what you want.
  • grimacegrimace Registered Users Posts: 1,537 Major grins
    edited May 19, 2010
    hawkeye978 wrote: »
    I think you were able to achieve the flowing water look you were looking for. I would suggest two things. First, the picture is somewhat overexposed. If you shot raw, I would go back and back off on the exposure setting. Even if you shot jpeg you can make some exposure adjustments. It looks like the water is close to blown out in the whiter regions. The same thing is happening in the sky. You can probably crop the sky away completely just above the rocks in the background and improve the composition. I think you want your subject to be the stream and that would help bring definition.