Options

Seeking advice on camera upgrade

fgogduhlfgogduhl Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited May 26, 2010 in Technique
Hello:

I am seeking advice on camera upgrade. I currently use a Nikon D40 w/ the 18-200mm zoom lens and a Hoya circular polarizer. I have been shooting with this since Dec 2007. I usually shoot in "P" mode and change exp. compensation frequently. I will do "S" mode to get the water to smooth out. White balance usually on Auto, sometime Cloudy or Florescent for effect. I always leave ISO on 200.

Anyway this shot is typical of what I like to shoot (sunrise or sunset, with low light). This is as shot, with auto-level and sharpening done in Apple Aperture. Any idea if I have reached the limit of what D40 can do for this type of shot? What capabilities would a higher level Nikon offer to improve the out-of-camera quality of these types of pics (I am happy with the D40 for regular daytime shooting). Seems to me like the sand where the water just receded should be glistening, but it seems kind of dull .

Thanks,
Fatima

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,904 moderator
    edited May 23, 2010
    I moved this into the "Techniques" forum since it has more to do with "how" you use the camera rather than the particular camera model itself.

If you are now shooting JPG files I suggest that RAW files would be preferable since that gives you more finite control over the processing of the image.