Options

How they get those shots

havanesehavanese Registered Users Posts: 197 Major grins
edited May 28, 2010 in Technique
I'm just a hobbyist with a 7D and some decent glass, but I'm also a IT coordinator and love the technical.

I am reading, watching, listen and experimenting with everything I can get my hands on...but I can't replicate what a lot of photographers are doing with portraits like from Amanda Pair http://www.amandapair.com/ or http://www.eternaltreasuresphotos.com/

The crisp sharp images with eye popping colors. I use LR and PS so if anyone could give me a work flow to achieve these types of images I would really appreciate it.
Randy P.
Fuji X shooter
Thoughts and Images

Comments

• Options
    QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited May 27, 2010
    whats lens do you have and could post some examples of you efforts to see what we are working with?

The images are very nice but certainly not impossible to duplicate. Start with:

1) cute baby
    2) cute clothes/props
    3) an 85mm 1.4 or some similar portrait type lens
    4) open it up close to wide with single focus point right over an eye
    5) good soft lighting (natural or otherwise)
    6) pop the image in post
    D700, D600
    14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
    85 and 50 1.4
    45 PC and sb910 x2
    http://www.danielkimphotography.com
  • Options
    edited May 27, 2010
    1 through 4, I can do...it's the number 5...pop the post editing that I would like to get some suggestions on.

What are they doing in LR and/or PS to get that style of image?
    Randy P.
    Fuji X shooter
    Thoughts and Images
  • Options
    adbsgicomadbsgicom Registered Users Posts: 3,615 Major grins
    edited May 27, 2010
    Check out the most-excellent tutorials here on dgrin. For example, Making an Image Pop.
    - Andrew

Who is wise? He who learns from everyone.
    My SmugMug Site
  • Options
    edited May 27, 2010
    adbsgicom wrote: »