Need Advice On Lenses For Canon 50D

rrcolwellrrcolwell Registered Users Posts: 11 Big grins
edited May 28, 2010 in Cameras
I am a newbie and am looking to upgrade my current camera (Canon Rebel XTi) and purchase some new lenses. I am buying the Canon 50D and am thinking of buying the Canon Zoom Telephoto EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM Autofocus Lens. I do not want to spend over $3000 but these two items pretty much eat that up. My ultimate goal is to shoot weddings, senior pics, family portraits, etc. I have done a few of each but just playing around. Am looking to get serious. Is this more lens than I need, is it the only lens I'll ever need? There are so many out there. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited May 26, 2010
    Its a great lens but far from the only lens you'll ever need. Especially for weddings, you're going to need something wider. A 24-70/2.8L, or perhaps the 17-55/2.8 as well. And its a 50D, not a D50. :) You could save some bucks by getting the non-image-stabilized version of the 70-200/2.8. On the other hand you were smart to get the 2.8 version and not the 4.0 version for your needs. You could also consider a handful of fast primes instead.
    Bill Jurasz - Mercury Photography - Cedar Park, TX
    A former sports shooter
    Follow me at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/bjurasz/
    My Etsy store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/mercphoto?ref=hdr_shop_menu
  • rrcolwellrrcolwell Registered Users Posts: 11 Big grins
    edited May 26, 2010
    mercphoto wrote: »