PS/LR newbie question

cab.in.bostoncab.in.boston Registered Users Posts: 634 Major grins
edited May 27, 2010 in Finishing School
As indicated, I am a total newbie with PS. I ordered and received CS5 Extended and LR2 a couple of weeks ago (before my student eligibility expired). Since then I have installed them and opened them a few times, only to be completely overwhelmed and not have any clue how to even get started. I've searched around a bit for PS tutorials, but many of them are of the type of "How to do X..." and seem to assume already some working knowledge of the software.

The sum total of my experience is that I've used LR3 Beta a little bit since it was released, but really haven't even done much there.

I'm looking for recommendations for "kindergarten-level" PS tutorials, either online or if anyone has recos for a good book or two that could take me really from absolute zero to at least understanding how and/or why I would want to do certain things. I'm talking at the level of "go to File menu, select X..." along with a very basic level of explanation about why, so I can build on that. There are many books out there, I would appreciate any testimonials of which ones might be good for my level. I thumbed through "Photoshop CS5 for Dummies" the other day, but it mentioned that it only briefly touches on the Extended version, and recommends "The Photoshop CS5 Bible," which is not yet released. I'm just not sure if it matters if I get a book aimed specifically at Extended, or if any PS CS5 book is fine (I'm guessing it would be, since I'm a long way from utilizing any additional capability in Extended). Is a Dummies book is the best way to start, or are there others that provide a better understanding of what/how to do things? And also examples/instructions on how/why to use LR would be great, too. I saw a book about LR2 for Photographers, that seemed like it might be good, but I'd like recos if anyone has any.