First macro post

ArrowsmithArrowsmith Registered Users Posts: 60 Big grins
edited June 4, 2010 in Holy Macro
Hi,

I've been admiring the posts on this forum for some time now and finally decided to post an image of my own. To be honest, my enthusiasm far exceeds my skills but I figured it was time to fish or cut bait (so to speak). I'm relatively new to photography (in general) and macro photography (in particular). In any case, I'd welcome any and all suggestions as to how I might improve the quality of my shots.

Thanks.
Bill
Bill B.

Nikon D40
Nikon SB-400, SB-21, SC-17
Micro-Nikkor-P Auto 55 f/3.5, Micro-Nikkor 105 f/4, Tamron 90mm f/2.8, Nikon EL-nikkor 50 f/2.8
Nikon F Bellows Model II
Nikon E2, M, M2, PN-1 tubes

Flickr

Comments

• Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,901 Major grins
    edited May 31, 2010
    Looks pretty good - would perhap be better if the fly was at top right of the frame looking in to it. Tend to look better if the subject is given more room in the frame in the direction it is looking.
    Brian v.
  • ArrowsmithArrowsmith Registered Users Posts: 60 Big grins
    edited May 31, 2010
    Looks pretty good - would perhap be better if the fly was at top right of the frame looking in to it. Tend to look better if the subject is given more room in the frame in the direction it is looking.
    Brian v.

Thanks, Brian. Your comment is very helpful. I'll concentrate more on the orientation of the subject. I must confess that, up to this point, I haven't been thinking much about composition. Getting the subject in focus, and achieving something like proper exposure, has been frustrating enough. eek7.gif Old eyes and somewhat less than steady hands haven't helped. In any case, here's another that may be a slight improvement (although a bit oof).

BTW, I'm sure you hear this a lot but you're magnificent images are truly an inspiration.

Bill
    Bill B.

Nikon D40