Child Portrait

TheCheeseheadTheCheesehead Registered Users Posts: 249 Major grins
edited June 13, 2010 in People
Hi,
Newbie here. Just bought a background stand and black muslin (Adorama) and here's one of my first shots, looking for some pointers. Canon Rebel XSI with 2.8L 24-70 at 57MM. 580EXII shooting through Zumbrella camera right, +1/3 stop EV.
Shot manual 1/200 @ 2.8 ISO 100. Edited through Photoshop Elements 7. Thanks!
4696442292_1c7e0e3174_b.jpg

Comments

• divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited June 13, 2010
    Adorable little girl! thumb.gif

Excellent first effort with artificial light - way better than mine, I can tell you that!!!

- Main thing I notice is that it's underexposed - if you didn't have enough light in person, then go ahead and lift the brightness a little in post. Yes, you will introduce some noise by doing this, but sometimes that's unavoidable (and if Elements isn't much good with noise reduction, check out the free "Community Edition" of Noiseware). Next time, bump up your ISO - if the shot is properly exposed the xsi produces beautiful results at iso 400, and 200 is pretty much clean as a whistle in all circumstances. Unless you have LOTS of light... I'd start at 200 and go up from there (I own an xsi, btw :D)

In the situation you have above, I would definitely have bumped up the FEC while shooting - it's simply too dark as it stands. Also.... shoot raw (if you don't already). Best to get it right in camera, of course, but raw gives you WAY more latitude to adjust that in post if needed.