Lightning Storm

brvheartbrvheart Registered Users Posts: 434 Major grins
edited June 15, 2010 in Other Cool Shots
This is my first attempt at capturing some lightning. We had a store and it was flashing literally every 1-2 seconds. I took these in Manual mode, manual focus, 30s exposure. I wish I had a remote to use the bulb mode, but dont so I had to shoot on the timer. CC welcomed.

900308910_oZDgu-M.jpg

900308835_7hNJm-M.jpg

900308753_caiu5-M.jpg

900308691_eGavr-M.jpg

Comments

• bgarlandbgarland Registered Users Posts: 761 Major grins
    edited June 14, 2010
    Last summer was my first shot at capturing lightning. I'm really looking forward to this monsoon season to improve my captures.

Here are couple from last summer. I used a remote trigger and fired off 8 sec exposures in the active direction until I caught these.

597572128_yYfGx-XL.jpg

597572126_NxGf5-XL.jpg

581667650_xjqw2-XL.jpg
  • brvheartbrvheart Registered Users Posts: 434 Major grins
    edited June 14, 2010
    Guess I need some more practice and a remote shutter :D
  • bgarlandbgarland Registered Users Posts: 761 Major grins
    edited June 14, 2010
    I didn't post mine to distract from yours. Just sharing the joy of capturing lighting.

I like your shots. I think due to the longer exposures the clouds have a softness to them that makes for a pleasing image. clap.gif
  • ABCLABCL Registered Users Posts: 80 Big grins
    edited June 14, 2010
    I like the OP's #3 shot, the clouds look so soft and atmospheric with those dull tones. Not much lightning, but it works for me :)

Good stuff!
    edited June 14, 2010
    ABCL wrote: »
    I like the OP's #3 shot, the clouds look so soft and atmospheric with those dull tones. Not much lightning, but it works for me :)

Good stuff!
    Thank you :)
  • Sexy6ChickSexy6Chick Registered Users Posts: 948 Major grins
    edited June 14, 2010