How would you handle this...

FstoplifeFstoplife Registered Users Posts: 190 Major grins
edited June 22, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
I am not an event photographer, I want to, but I am just starting out, I am doing well with the portraits, and I want to focus on that, for now. A friend of mine asked me to do her wedding next July, I am just doing her getting ready, and the ceremony. She is getting married this August in Paris, so she's not too concerned about the second wedding here in NY. She knows this is my first event, but she loves my other stuff, so we are going to go for it! She is so easy-going I am not worried at all.

My problem is, a co-worker knows that I am trying to build my portfolio/photography business. I had mentioned the wedding to her and how I was nervous, but super excited, we spoke then it dropped. Well yesterday the co-workers comes up to me and says shes having this huge bash for her daughter, first birthday, and she wants me to take pics. I am game, again it's one of those things where there is so much going on, she just wants someone taking pics. I am very confident in my abilities. So she said I should use her as a guinea pig for the wedding, I said that's a great idea, then we got interrupted and said we would discuss more later. Well she comes up to me and says her partner loves the idea, but money was never mentioned. How do I bring this up tactfully? If it was maybe portraits before the party or whatever I would be more easy going about it, she lives a block away, I love taking photos, so it would be fine, but this is a four hour party. I feel I need to get some sort of compensation. Do you agree? Should I say, it was good practice and just go for it, or do I potentially put the relationship on the line, and maybe future jobs and bring up money. I am not good at these things :( TIA
Flickr My, not quite there yet, website