Options

Pricing

run_kmcrun_kmc Registered Users Posts: 263 Major grins
edited June 30, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
Questions regarding pricing seem to be not uncommon, so I thought I'd share the following link:

http://www.drawar.com/articles/two-choices-for-rates-and-cheap-isnt-one-of-them/242/

His main point is that you should charge either nothing or enough to make the work worth your time, otherwise everyone starts getting annoyed.

Comments

• Options
    chrisjohnsonchrisjohnson Registered Users Posts: 771 Major grins
    edited June 22, 2010
    As a person who does NOT earn his money with photography I am increasingly curious why the pricing issue here seems to be "smoke and mirrors" - at least on this site.

I have been working for myself as a "creative freelancer" for 30 years - not photography - and am very much aware of rate bands in my areas of competence.

For friends and "business friends" I will do a short gig for free. They help me get new assignments and I do not want business relations with real friends in any case.

For my strategic marketing consultancy I charge between 1250 and 2000$ per day, for my "copywriting" I charge between 750 and 1200$ per day. I am careful to keep the two businesses separate and I do the copywriting because I enjoy it - money is not everything. The rate I quote depends on the likely longevity of the contract and my personal motivation.

For paying customers you need to charge market rates. When you charge less, your customer cannot explain to their stakeholders why they did not hire a properly qualified person. When you charge more, then you had better deliver evidently superior results. When you do jobs on the cheap then you have a real problem - you have undermined your value and your brand - better to do it for "free" and stay friends.