PS help with an effect, please!

kds1kds1 Registered Users Posts: 242 Major grins
edited June 29, 2010 in Finishing School
I am new to photoshop and have CS5. I have a shot that I'd like to pp in a way that I have seen others do for still life, floral, etc. It looks like almost like a very old painting when done. Has texture to it, cracks that look like marble or wood cracks, has a very old feel. But I can't find anything on CS5 that seems to do that!

Can anyone help, please? :dunno

I've tried the Texture options under Filter, as I thought the craqueluer may be it, but if it is, I can't get the look at all that I have seen and liked - the craqueluer seems to give measured, graph-paper like cracks for texture, not the old painting look I have seen and want. Looked at the other options also and can't find it. Help!

Thanks!

Kara

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,077 moderator
    edited June 28, 2010
    If you could provide a link to a photographic sample of the effect you are looking for, that would help to identify the technique(s) involved.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • kds1kds1 Registered Users Posts: 242 Major grins
    edited June 28, 2010
    ziggy53 wrote: »
    If you could provide a link to a photographic sample of the effect you are looking for, that would help to identify the technique(s) involved.

Yes, I know it would and I know I have seen some on dgrin use it as well as elsewhere, but I have no idea where I saw it. I wouldn't even know where to begin looking. :(

I was hoping someone would be able to help based on the description.
  • SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited June 28, 2010
    I think you may looking at a grunge effect. Try a Google search for this and see if this is the effect your looking for.

There isn't a one button solution for this effect.

Sam
  • Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited June 28, 2010