Options

In The Studio

OldGuyOldGuy Registered Users Posts: 301 Major grins
edited June 30, 2010 in People
A studio shot with my new Pocket Wizards and SB800's. D300, 85 f1.4, 1/200 @ f3.2, ISO 160, manual WB.
Main light camera left 45 degrees and up, @ 1/8 power. Fill light camera right 45 degrees and face level, @ 1/32 power. Both reflected in umbrellas.

A little touch-up in Portraiture.

Please critique. :bow

917015339_MhhEL-L.jpg

Comments

• Options
    adbsgicomadbsgicom Registered Users Posts: 3,615 Major grins
    edited June 29, 2010
    This looks very underexposed to me.

I'm just getting started with the studio lighting, but I think you might want your fill a little closer to the camera axis. However, given my novice status, I'd defer to the gurus on that one.
    - Andrew

Who is wise? He who learns from everyone.
    My SmugMug Site
  • Options
    tomnovytomnovy Registered Users Posts: 1,101 SmugMug Employee
    edited June 29, 2010
    his looks very underexposed to me.

I'm just getting started with the studio lighting, but I think you might want your fill a little closer to the camera axis. However, given my novice status, I'd defer to the gurus on that one.

Agree! More Light please!
    SmugMug Support Hero | Customizer | My SmugMug site - http://www.photom.me | Customization Portal - https://portal.photom.me
  • Options
    Mike JMike J Registered Users Posts: 1,029 Major grins
    edited June 29, 2010
    I'm with Andrew on this one - not a lot of experience with studio lights but this is definitely underexposed. Did you use a light meter to check the strobes or did you guy by the preview on the LCD?
    Mike J

Comments and constructive criticism always welcome.
    www.mikejulianaphotography.com
    Facebook
  • Options
    edited June 29, 2010
    adbsgicom wrote: »
    This looks very underexposed to me.

tomnovy wrote: »
    Agree! More Light please!
    Mike J wrote: »