Options

Photos as a guest questions...???

TBRTBR Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
edited July 5, 2010 in Weddings
I would like to start by saying thank you to all on here. I have learned so very much from reading on this wonderful forum.

Now to my question... I am pretty new to the world of photography and will be going to my cousin's wedding. While I am not the photographer I thought this would be a great time to learn some of the basics of wedding photography. I don't want to step on the feet of the actual professional so I will be limited on the shots that I can take. I will also make sure not hinder any possible sales of the photographer by offering my photos to the couple with out the photographers permission. Are there any other courtesies I should show?

I would also like to ask what are the shots I should focus on?

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated...!!!

Thanks in advance...!!!

Comments

• Options
    AgnieszkaAgnieszka Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,263 Major grins
    edited July 3, 2010
    Soooooo. You are planning to follow the photographer the entire day and shoot behind his / her shoulder? I'd say that's inappropriate. headscratch.gif

I understand you want to get your feet wet, but it's really annoying for a photographer if you constantly have a person follow you (unless it's your assistant / second shooter). The couple has already enough going on that day, and an additional distraction will just screw up the photos that the photographer is trying to get.

Sorry ... just my honest opinion. Take as many photos as you want at the wedding, take some nice detail shots at the reception, take some photos of the guests, or some candids, take some during the ceremony (just don't be in anybody's way), do whatever you want, but following the photographer around while the bride is getting ready, or while the photographer is taking the posed photos of the couple is a no-go in my eyes.