Options

Need adivce on shooting food (steak to be exact)

lmyamenlmyamen Registered Users Posts: 55 Big grins
edited July 23, 2010 in Technique
OK so i am shooting for a local restaurant this wed. They are making recipe cards and need shots of 3 different steak dishes. Im shooting with my sigma 70-200 f2.8 on my 40D with a 580EXII flash. I am new to food shooting, do you have any advice or tips? I did have someone say i should use a water spray bottle and give the food a quick spray before the pictures... Is that a good idea? I practiced shooting pizza this weekend really quick before we ate, i shot a f/2.8 which i am thinking is to much for these shots and i need more than just a small strip of focus. Any setting tips for shooting food, i am thinking maybe shoot at f/4? Here is my practice shots (no flash, hand held) Im thinking there is to much bokeh in these.

4802690727_bb722d82b8.jpg
4803318830_dfdc30f89d.jpg
4803313032_95f068f714.jpg
4803317078_9f7197702c.jpg

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited July 19, 2010
    In food shots I want the food in good focus or at least enuff of it so the client
    (not the restaurant but the restaurants clients) get a very good idea of what
    the dish is......I normally set up a shooting box so that I can get even light from 3 lights....
    I use a top light and 2 side lights from the frot and slightly to the side.....making for
    very even light.........

With a single flash then shoot it as a portrait but have a reflector to the side
    opposite the flash for fill and to kill shadows.......my normal aperture range is
    from 5.6 to 16 depending on subject and background........if using white or bright
    colored paltes for the dishes use a dark or black backdrop......if dark colored
    dishes then use a white backdrop.....something you can easily control and that dof
    won't matter that much on..................

Good Luck