Sensor Cleaning Product Suggestions?

kcuikcui Registered Users Posts: 71 Big grins
edited July 21, 2010 in Cameras
I'm was browsing for sensor cleaning supplies (brushes, solutions, etc..) but I was overwhelmed by the amount of choices. I'm relatively new to sensor cleaning so I don't want to drop $100 bucks on a nice kit only to find I could have got something that suits my need for half the price.

As far as cleaning goes, should I stick to dry brushes or go with wet cleaning (swab & solution)?

Can anyone recommend some products they've used?

For reference, I shoot on a 1.6x crop, and often change lenses when I'm out and about.

Thanks!

EDIT: Sorry, just realized I put this in the Camera board instead of Accessories!

EDIT 2: Upon further use of the SEARCH function (DOH!) I've discovered COPPERHILL. Wish I could delete my post : (
A work in progress...

http://kristophercui.com

Comments

• basfltbasflt Registered Users Posts: 1,882 Major grins
    edited July 20, 2010
    my own , recent experiences ;
    as for my D60
    you can use em all , it doesnt matter
    see , the thing your looking at is not the sensor , but a plastic filter
    the actual sensor is underneath it

i will tell you a story
    my sensor was extreme dirty
    i could not get it clean anymore
    i took the D60 apart following this :
    http://www.eyesopen.org/projects/ir/
    then , i cleaned both sides of the filter with a old sensorswab and eclipse
    then i wiped it with a Hama lens cloth
    i cleaned the actual sensor with a new sensorswab and eclipse ,
    using recommended procedure
    every thing is fine now
    only 2 spots left [ on back side of filter , unfortunately ]
  • Te AmoTe Amo Registered Users Posts: 79 Big grins
    edited July 20, 2010
    The arctic butterfly is great for spot cleaning. Though I would suggest a properly sized sensor swab kit for full cleaning.
  • basfltbasflt Registered Users Posts: 1,882 Major grins
    edited July 20, 2010
    correct