Trying simple HDR

adbsgicomadbsgicom Registered Users Posts: 3,615 Major grins
edited July 30, 2010 in Technique
Since fill flash isn't allowed or necessarily advisable with these horses, I tried using HDR as post solution. I'd like some feedback on if you think it looks natural or not. I took the original (where the face was much too dark) and made -2, -1, +1, +2 and 0 versions, ran through photomatix, experimented a bunch with the detail mapping sliders and ended up somewhere that seemed sensible. Wasn't sure where to put this since the image isn't really refinery material.

I'm just getting started with trying HDR flows. This was my second total attempt.

942906929_AiSrs-XL.jpg

Thanks!
- Andrew

Who is wise? He who learns from everyone.
My SmugMug Site

Comments

• pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,703 moderator
    edited July 21, 2010
    There is obviously more contrast and color in the rider's face than in the background, almost like you purposely desaturated the background ( which I do in some of my images ) so that is an observation not a criticism. You definitely have improved the visibility of the rider's face which was hidden in shadow before.

If the image were mine, I would burn down the sand and the background as well, and maybe even add a vignette.

This image does not scream "hdr" but does show how you can improve shadow detail hidden away in a sunlit image.

You may have the face ~1/2 stop too bright for being in the shadow, but probably only photographers will really notice that.

I don't shoot horses ( and I have no idea of the equestrian protocols about flash ) , but do the horses really react to the very brief flash out of doors in bright sunlight?