Options

New toy and the story behind it

craig_dcraig_d Registered Users Posts: 911 Major grins
edited July 25, 2010 in Cameras
Recently, I've been wanting to get away from all the automation and other helpful features of modern cameras. One can, of course, simply turn most of it off, but as long as it's there, I tend to get lazy and start using it. So I started shooting with manual-focus lenses. Then I started favoring film over digital, partly because film, straight out of the camera, tends to be a lot closer to what I want than digital, but also to avoid the ability to fix exposure and color balance issues in PP. Then I started wanting a camera that didn't even have a meter in it, to force myself to practice figuring exposures out on my own. (At this rate I'll soon be mixing my own emulsions and spreading them on glass plates...)

I was also getting more interested in the M42 screw mount, having used bayonets on every interchangeable-lens camera I'd ever owned. With a bit of research, I identified the Pentax SV (1962-70) as a particularly interesting M42 camera for my purposes. The SV was nearly the last Pentax SLR not to have a built-in meter (the SL, a couple of years later, was basically a low-end Spotmatic with the meter removed); at the same time, the SV was the first Pentax SLR to have a fully automatic aperture. It seemed like a nice balance and a good place to start my exploration of the M42 world. Besides, classic camera enthusiasts talk about the Spotmatics all the time; you don't hear quite so much about the earlier models.