Options

Moving to Linux What Flavor do You like?

RocketManRocketMan Registered Users Posts: 236 Major grins
edited July 29, 2010 in Finishing School
So I’ve finally given up on Winders (it has crashed Way To Many Times) and was getting so slow (due to all the crap it stashes everywhere!) I just want to throw my laptop out the winder…. :D
I am now moving to Linux for my home system. While I’ve been a Unix admin for years I've only fairly recently (in the last year) moved into a linux based environment with my new job (moving away from turn-key systems such as Sun and HP) and damn if Linux hasn’t come a LONG way since I last touched it. So my question is, for those using Linux, what flavor do you use/like and what tools (Gimp, Rawedit, Raw Therapee, etc) have you found best for photo work? Any preferred X-Windows, as in Gnome or KDE?
Since most of our environment is geared toward scientific applications running a version of RedHat without the GUI interface I’ve been mostly working at the command line (as in previous jobs) so as yet am not that familiar with the Various X-Windows systems on Linux. I am currently evaluating Ubuntu 10.04 on my old laptop (which is also going away soon) and so far am impressed with the tools and layout and speed. though there is a few bugs I'm finding.

Thanks

Jeff
http://roadrunes.com
"It's better to bite the hand that feeds you, than to feed the hand that bites you" - Me :D

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited July 26, 2010
    Quite sometime ago Shay Stephens, who was an Artist in Residence here, was using Ubuntu and he was a contributor on the Ubuntu
    forum also....before he just dropped off the face of the earth.......at that time to use ubuntu or any other form of Linux one had to be like you,
    quite good with the coding and bug fixing.....

Good Luck