1 Old & New

33579408-M.jpg

2 Alive & Dead

33579404-M.jpg

Comments

• burkeburke Registered Users Posts: 131 Major grins
    edited August 26, 2005
    #2 is more appealing to me..
    my only suggestion with it is to fix the sky so that it's not so washed out..
    nice work - really like the dof in this one!!
  • gsgarygsgary Registered Users Posts: 1,350 Major grins
    edited August 26, 2005
    How do i fix the sky i'm very new to photography and photoshop?
    Thanks for your comments
    Gary
    burke wrote:
    #2 is more appealing to me..
    my only suggestion with it is to fix the sky so that it's not so washed out..
    nice work - really like the dof in this one!!
  • FlyingginaFlyinggina Registered Users Posts: 2,639 Major grins
    edited August 28, 2005
    You should probably take this question to the Theory, Technique and How-to Forum. In the meantime, since no one has yet responded, here is my two cents worth. :D

I use Corel PhotoPaint, not PhotoShop, but I can tell you what I would try and that might help until someone with PS knowledge jumps in.

First, look at the original of your picture to see if there is any color or detail in the sky. If there is enough color, mask out the original sky, then do any brightening and contrast adjustment you need to do on the exposed foreground. Invert the mask and make adjustments you want to make to the sky. You should do this on a new layer so that it is easy to start over again if you don't like the results. Once you are happy with the results, combine the layers.

If the sky in the original is washed out (as I think is probably the case), you need to either change the color or replace it with a sky that works better from another photograph (taken during the challenge period).