nephew at the beach

ElaineElaine Registered Users Posts: 3,532 Major grins
edited July 30, 2010 in People
I loved the moment caught here. I did use a bit of fill flash (not gelled though), but I don't think it was quite enough. This edited version makes it look like I used more than I did. Any suggestions??

Canon 40D, 17-55 2.8 IS at f/4, 1/1600, ISO 100
951867954_amAE9-XL.jpg
Elaine

Comments and constructive critique always welcome!

Elaine Heasley Photography

Comments

• Darren Troy CDarren Troy C Registered Users Posts: 1,927 Major grins
    edited July 29, 2010
  • IcebearIcebear Registered Users Posts: 4,015 Major grins
    edited July 29, 2010
    I'm not a flash expert by any means, but at ISO 100, in that kind of bright light, I'd think you'd need pretty much everything your flash could put out to have any fill effect. With your shutter speed at 1/1600, I'll bet your shutter had closed before your flash duration was over. Sure, you had your lens almost wide open, but at full power, your flash duration is, what 1/400th or so? We're so used to thinking that the f stop controls the flash and the shutter speed the ambient, that we sometimes ignore the fact that at high power the flash can actually be slower than the shutter.

I think you were asking a lot of your flash for anything more than catchlights. ne_nau.gif
    John :
    Natural selection is responsible for every living thing that exists.
    D3s, D500, D5300, and way more glass than the wife knows about.
  • ElaineElaine Registered Users Posts: 3,532 Major grins
    edited July 29, 2010
    I like it!

Thanks, Darren!
    Elaine

edited July 30, 2010
    Icebear wrote: »