My First Post Star Tutorial Attempt

bgarlandbgarland Registered Users Posts: 761 Major grins
edited August 6, 2010 in Landscapes
This is my first attempt at a star mountain night landscape following Ron Coscorrosa's excellent tutorial. Please feel free to help me learn more with your CC.

Obviously I did not trek into the wilderness for this first attempt. I captured this off my back porch last night of the Catalina Mountains North of Tucson. The lazy man's classroom. :D

Did I get the concept close?

956357242_wwCAo-L.jpg

Comments

• schmooschmoo Registered Users Posts: 8,468 Major grins
    edited August 2, 2010
    This looks fine to me! Did you catch a shooting star there?
  • Sexy6ChickSexy6Chick Registered Users Posts: 948 Major grins
    edited August 2, 2010
    clap.gif I'd be very happy to capture a shot like that on my first try.
    ~*Natalie*~

A lover of all things photography.

Olympus E-500

My Smugmug Gallery
  • bgarlandbgarland Registered Users Posts: 761 Major grins
    edited August 2, 2010
    Sexy6Chick wrote: »
    clap.gif I'd be very happy to capture a shot like that on my first try.

Thanks Natalie. More refinement over time but at least I have the concept.
    edited August 2, 2010
    schmoo wrote: »
    This looks fine to me! Did you catch a shooting star there?

We need a sheepish grin smiley. I did catch the shooting star in one of my first tries but not in the the final shots I combined. I copied and pasted the shooting star from the earlier shot into the final version. :D
  • TangoTango Registered Users Posts: 4,592 Major grins
    edited August 2, 2010
    For your first go at it you're already leagues ahead of many.
    Are you using the quick select tool or brushes to merge? if your using the quick select tool then play around with the refine edge setting to help smooth it out.