Options

Standard pricing, websites & advertising

PhoenixOrionPhoenixOrion Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
edited August 16, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
Hello, site newbie here. :)

I've been lurking for a bit and this group seems pretty knowledgeable. I have a few questions I'm hoping you can help me answer.

To give some background, I've been a hobbyist for about 13 years. Other than a handful of paid events (weddings, mostly) I've done it for my own entertainment. Recently, I decided to try my hand in business. While it wasn't a snap-decision, I'm finding some holes in my planning.

To cut it short, I'm having problems coming up with a standard rate.

I've scoured the internet hoping to find helpful insight but I'm more confused now than before my search. Some articles say "there's no such thing as standard" while others suggest that those who "fly by the seat of their pants" in pricing, don't take their business seriously and must at least estimate. I've tried out various calculators online; considered various costs to actually run a business, etc. Like I said, I'm more confused than ever.

I know there isn't a concrete answer since photography is so broad and there are numerous aspects to consider. I've looked at price lists of those in my area, compared with those in different states and the businesses I consider my competitors. I'm not willing to "undercut" anyone since that doesn't work longterm and cheap prices suggest second-class work and/or service.

So I guess my question is, how would I price myself? My chosen field is events and portraiture. Not so sure I want to venture into weddings as a professional, though. Around here especially, that market is pretty flooded and I really don't want to be considered as just another "wedding photographer."

Further, I'm wondering what your opinions are on including price on websites. Do any of you have price lists you give potential clients?